The Judging

The awards are free to enter and the winners are selected by an independent panel of leading experts from the sector.

Judging criteria for the inpidual categories covers:

  • Category management
  • Marketing and new product development
  • Supply chain improvements
  • Quality assurance
  • Health and safety and environmental management
  • Process innovation; and
  • Human resources development

Whilst we welcome entries covering all these criteria’s, submissions must answer at least three of the criteria, providing 500 words on each. The submissions should include key performance indicators and describe why your company deserves an award.

From the winners of the inpidual category awards, one company will be selected by our judging panel to be crowned Food Manufacture Company of the Year.

A series of other awards are also presented and these are open to those companies that have entered the main category awards.

These awards include:

  • Best new use of food ingredients
  • Environmental initiative of the year
  • Supply chain initiative of the year
  • Training programme of the year

However, to be eligible for consideration, applicants for these specialist awards must first have entered one of the main category awards.

For the second year, we will also be making ‘The Me and My Factory – editor’s choice’ award, which will recognise the company from those featured under this regular and popular section within the pages of Food Manufacture over the previous year that our editorial team considers stands out form all the rest.

In its fourth year, a Young talent of the year award will be made to the inpidual aged 27 years or under who the judges assess to be the most promising new apprentice or graduate in food and drink manufacture.

An award will also be made for Judges’ star performer, presented to a company selected from all entries, which the judges believe deserves recognition for one particular area of its activities.

An SME innovation of the year award will also be made to the best small company whose turnover is less than £10M and employs fewer than 100 staff.

The closing date for receipt of entries is Monday 24th July The winners will be revealed at a fun-packed
awards evening at the Hilton Park Lane in London on November 1.

View the categories